h1

Changes to This Website (Updated: 2010 January 23 Saturday)

2009 November 13

Following the recent polling, I will be making these changes to this website over the coming months:

  1. The site will move to a new, dedicated web address. I will keep you up-to-date on its progress on this blog.
  2. When I’ve prepared both the design and updated, standardised pages, I will move them to the new site. The ‘old’ pages here will give a link to the new ones. The blog will still continue here for the time being.
  3. I plan to move the actual blog – including the daily news posts – to the new site at some point in the future.
  4. I’m also looking at setting up support forums and increasing the new website’s coverage. While sticking to science-based factual information, I want to extend the topics to most brain based illnesses and diseases. This is a long-term large project that will depend on gradually encouraging “patient experts” to help. I’m also hopeful that in time professionals may lend their help. I’ll post more on this later.
2 comments

  1. I really thought i was the only person until now, that suffers from the lose of being able to visualise. It is very frightening, the medical world, don’t seem to understand. An example my wife is asleep right now and I am totally unable to visualise her or the bedroom and we have been together 30 years. There is nothing there, its empty. The isolation is the worst, because you can not visualise or remember the past. Peter


    • Hi, Peter,

      I have the same problem. Right now, my partner is at work and even if I close my eyes I can’t picture her face. It makes me very sad. I’ve taken comfort in the end because, as a Buddhist, I feel very released from my past. But I have lots of difficulties myself with learning new skills. For example, my partner is trying to teach me to cook (as I’ve become a “househusband”!), but often I can’t remember her that she taught me something; nevermind what she taught me. I can get around many of these problems by being very organised and using the laptop for cross-referenced notes, and so on.

      One of the reasons for writing this site is to bring together others like us so we can share stories and, I hope, one day so I can report on medical research. Until then, the nearest suggestions I’ve had are from family doctors. One student doctor wondered if it isn’t a form of dyslexia or dyspraxia. Around half of visitors report a migraine diagnosis, and I myself have “persistent aura”. My own doctor wonders whether it’s an electrical disturbance.

      I hope for all our sakes that in time, more knowledge about this problem comes forward. In the meantime, if you do have any thoughts on how I can improve this website, please let me know – or complete the survey polls.

      Take care.



Leave a Reply

